Cream egg – the nostalgia of wrappers

Cream egg wrapperI was sorting through old magazines and in one from the mid nineties I found the wrapper of a cream egg that I had carefully flattened out and kept. It was still as shiny and alluring as it had been the day I’d chosen to carefully smooth it out with my thumb, the foil glinting from the pages of a magazine taking me back to that part of my life more vividly than any of the popstars’ photos or fashion shoots in the magazine its self. There is something about the wrappers of food, greatly enjoyed, treats, indulgences that means coming across one unexpectedly will always prompt a rush of nostalgia that is pure pleasure.

Leave a Reply

